Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-23-2009, 08:57 PM   #1
Inactive Account

ebay lighting kits = need advice

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

I'm new to working with lighting equipment and id like to get some feedback on whether to get something like this posted on ebay or go get something of better quality. Ive got limited funds so that is a factor. Also as i grow with experience i think to upgrade. Do you think that this is good to start off with and give me decent quality results??

NEW 800W PHOTOGRAPHY STUDIO UMBRELLA LIGHTING KIT+ BAG - (eBay.ca item 370174978972 end time 27-Mar-09 20:05:18 EDT)

Thanks everyone

03-23-2009, 09:16 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
If you find you enjoy working with flash/studio lighting I think you'll wish you'd 'upgraded' from the start.

Light is the most important element to photography; no photons, no photo. So don't go cheaper than you have to. That kit, and others like it, are "made for" ebayers that want to take "better" snaps of the wares they're selling on ebay.

Why not get one good manual shoe mount flash, one light stand, two umbrellas (1 shoot thru and 1 reflector) and a Cactus Wireless Trigger/Receiver set. Then go through Strobist: Lighting 101. Find out if you like it and if you do that simple one light kit can be the foundation you build up from and become your backups as you and your kit grows.
03-23-2009, 09:23 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Venturi Quote