Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-29-2009, 11:11 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Do I need filters?

I am very confused about filters, specifically UV's. I have a K10D. I know that the filter makes for better colors, but you also need to compensate for the loss of light. Is it worth all the trouble? I Am hearing both pros and cons on this. I have a circular Hoya and I am not even sure how to rotate it for best results. I also have a skylight filter that i keep on all the time. Do I need a lens cap to keep on when not in use? Seems like a pain taking it off and on. Please don't think I am a dodo as I am a little new to all this.

thanks

03-29-2009, 12:17 PM   #2

For my DA lenses, I don't put any filter in front; only the cap when not in use.

I have UV or Skylight filters on all my classic K lenses. I don't want anything to touch the front element. I also keep a cap on the filter during storage but will keep the cap off in between shoots. Once in a while, I will remove the filter for critical shoot, or to put an polarizer on.

For your circular polarizer, you view through the lens with the filter, while you rotate. And when you see the effect you want (usually removal of reflection) then you take the picture.

With digital photography (esp. with post processing SW) I don't use other types of filters any more. Other people still might use them for special effects.
03-29-2009, 12:47 PM   #3
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
jots already explained how to use the polarized filter.

Have you ever worn polarized sunglasses outdoors and noticed how much prettier everything looks when you're wearing them? The same thing happens when you use a polarized filter on your camera lens.