Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-08-2009, 04:21 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Ball head recommendation

Hi all,

I want to buy ball head for my Slik 813CF II tripod.

I have no experience with ball heads at all and any advice will be appreciated.

The heaviest thing this ball head will have to hold is K20D + (my future purchase) Sigma 100-300mm f/4 lens.

Should I take "no compromises" approach and go for Markins Q3? Or maybe I can save some money and get some other ball head of good quality?

By the way, the head mounting plate of my tripod is 46mm in diameter, Markins Q3 ball head base diameter is 56mm. Will it be a problem? Do I need to get larger diameter head mounting plate?

Thank you for your input.

Last edited by Edvinas; 04-08-2009 at 07:04 PM.
04-08-2009, 06:48 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Go for it. I have an M10 and it's absolutely one of the best purchases I've made.

I want a Q3 too!
04-08-2009, 08:02 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Diego knows of what he speaks.
A real good ballhead is a joy to work with.
04-08-2009, 08:33 PM   #4
Veteran Member

I use a SLIK SBH-320 DQ with my Velbon El Carmagne 635 and like it a lot; fairly cheap, and gets the work done. I have successfully mounted a William Optics Megrez 90 apochromatic telescope (7lb) on it and it withheld fine.

04-10-2009, 04:57 PM   #5
Veteran Member

Can't tell you what ball head to get. It's personal. I have a Kirk BH-1 that I like (especially for the price I got it for - $80 including a fiber carbon tripod)

QuoteOriginally posted by Edvinas Quote
By the way, the head mounting plate of my tripod is 46mm in diameter, Markins Q3 ball head base diameter is 56mm. Will it be a problem? Do I need to get larger diameter head mounting plate?