Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-12-2009, 06:52 AM   #31
Forum Member

It sounds like I am in basically the same boat as the OP in this situation. My baby sister is getting married this summer, and I am shooting the ceremony and reception. I have no experience in shooting weddings as of yet, but I did get many months of prior notice of the event, so I have had lots of time for research and preparing my gear. I have spent untold hours on this forum, gleaning information about wedding photography. For what its worth, here are a few of the tips I have found.

Beg/Borrow/Steal an extra body.
Take extra memory cards. Don't delete anything from the cards.
Have someone dump your cards onto a laptop when you fill them.
Get the flash bracket.
Don't skimp on the flash.
Charge all the batteries you have, and take them with you. Don't forget lots of batteries for the flash.
A tripod is mostly useless unless you have the spare body.
Never chimp your shots. Worry about your bad ones at home. Don't delete them, they may save your bacon.
Use fast primes if you are indoors.
Have a plan and get into position early to minimize distracting movements. It isn't your show.
Find out if it is acceptable to the preacher/bride/etc. to use a flash during the ceremony.
Remember you are only hassling electrons, not wasting film, so take a ton of pictures.
Take some cold water, and a fresh shirt.