Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-01-2009, 12:16 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Camera Strap Options

I'm looking for a new strap to replace my Domke Gripper strap I've been using for several years. I love this strap but it's starting to fray and after adding the Tamron 28-75 and the K20D to my kit, I need a strap with a bit more padding. I stopped by the local camera shop this week and they had about 4 different straps, the Skooba, a padded, suede Tamrac, an Op/Tech Classic Neoprene and a Lowepro. None of which I liked to say the least.

I'm looking for opinions on different straps that meet the following criteria:
1. Low profile, not thick and bulky but still somewhat padded
2. 1" wide
3. Secure

I think I would like the Op/Tech Envy strap but haven't found one in the wild to look at and touch. If anyone has experience with this strap I'd love to hear what you think about it. One thing that trips me up with it, is the quick-release straps. I've never used a strap with those because they've never seemed to be very secure when I've checked them out in the store, so I'm just leary. Plus, it looks bulkier than the Domke of course, and I want to be able to wrap it around my wrist and arm when I'm shooting and don't want to have the strap around my neck.

I may just order the Envy and see for myself, but if you guys and gals have any ideas for me, I'd love to hear 'em!

07-01-2009, 01:12 PM   #2
Inactive Account

I have a Habaku wrist strap that is really comfortable and solid, but now the K-7 has external lugs so I don't know what to do.
07-01-2009, 02:40 PM   #3

Original Poster
Yeah, I thought about that Habuka hand strap a couple of years ago but decided I'd prefer a neck strap so I could let the camera hang from my neck instead of having to put it back in my bag or sit it down if I needed two hands to do something. Thanks for the suggestions and good luck with the K7 and your strap. There's always something!