Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-11-2007, 06:56 AM   #1

Mirror lens for Pentax SLRs

Are mirror lens worth the money? And, which mirror lens manufacturer makes the best ones?

I live on Mobile Bay and want to take telephoto shots of the city across the bay from where I live in Daphne, Alabama. The 500mm-1,000mm mirror lens seem interesting to me although I understand that exposures taken with such lens can't really compare with the Pentax telephoto lens such as the 300mm or larger.

When using the mirror lens, what capabilities of the Pentax cameras such as the ZX-L or ZX-5N are lost? The fixed aperatures of the mirror lens also concern me and does anyone have comments about that limitation?

I understand that Pentax may have made a mirror lens, but I have little knowledge about it, so if anyone has any experience with that lens, please comment on it. I use the Pentax cameras previously mentioned along with the Nikon 8008s so mirror lens that would easily fit on those camera bodies are of interest to me. Further, I expect to purchase the Pentax 10KD so would like to know if any of the mirror lens mentioned will work on that digital platform....

Any comments will be appreciated.

FLASH

05-11-2007, 01:48 PM   #2

Little to add. Somebody mentioned not being able to get a mirror lens on their K10D because of the way the onboard flash bumps out, and the shape/size of the lens. Not sure if it was here or on some other forum. And I seem to think it was the 500mm.
05-11-2007, 03:03 PM   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Have a look at this thread for some more info on mirror lenses: https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-slr-lens-discussion/6789-mirror-lenses.html

Mirror lenses are good tradeoffs for their size, but if you want high IQ, you can't beat a regular telephoto prime.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)