Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-06-2009, 06:22 AM   #1

P-TTL problem with istd??

i shoot nightlife photos, so i need something for very lowlight.

after not doing my reseach, i purchased a regular sunpak flash and realized it didn't help at all.
i read about the p-ttl system, so i invested in the Digital Concept 918AF. i needed a (cheap) flash to autofocus with an assist before i could shoot the picture-otherwise i can't see what i'm doing!

i read a great review of it on here-problem is, mine's not working! since i'm new to working with p-ttl, i'm wondering if i'm doing something wrong. i've tried p, tv, av, manual setting-no assist. the flash is fine in bright light, but does absolutely nothing in the dark.

is this a setting? or is possible the flash is defective?? or did ebay lie to me, and it's not even compatible with an istd???

08-06-2009, 11:12 AM   #2
Pentaxian

I don't know much about the flash unit you mention.

But I know that ist-D does not have P-TTL. It's TTL. You may want to make sure the flash supports TTL.

Your description of the problem ("the flash is fine in bright light, but does absolutely nothing in the dark") does not sound related to P-TTL vs TTL, however.
08-06-2009, 12:32 PM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by SOldBear Quote

But I know that ist-D does not have P-TTL. It's TTL. You may want to make sure the flash supports TTL.

Your description of the problem ("the flash is fine in bright light, but does absolutely nothing in the dark") does not sound related to P-TTL vs TTL, however.
*ist d does support p-ttl flashes from what i understand. p-ttl causes a flash before taking the picture so that the camera can see enough to focus. mine, however, is not doing this preflash-that's my problem

???
08-06-2009, 12:37 PM   #4
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by yinzerparty Quote
*ist d does support p-ttl flashes
Sorry. My bad. As you said, *ist-D does support P-TTL.