Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-26-2009, 12:40 PM   #1

Motorcycle touring & walkabout bag for K20d outfit (verbose!)

Gettings,

I am pretty new to my k20d outfit. I currently have just the kit lens and a Tamron 75-300 zoom. That will probably soon change to a broader wide<->Telephoto zoom for walkabout duties and a couple of primes, plus a flash eventually.

I'm looking for a bag solution to satisfy both motorcycle touring, and a general purpose walkabout bag.
When I ride I like to be able to stop and quickly access my camera for a shot taken while still sitting on the bike, and easy to snatch up and take a few scenic shots a short walk away.
when off the bike I'm apt to walk a few miles / several hours either back country or on established trails, such as those through National Parks or ranger-led tours.

Currently I have just a small magnetic tank bag that converts to a backpack. Up until now I've only used various Sony Point & Shoot digitals, and an old Yashica T4 35mm point n shoot film camera for backup. The magnets and vibration has never caused me any issues with the memory cards or the point & shoots, however now with the much heavier and sophisticated dSLR I'm reluctant to expose it - not so much to the magnets - but more so the shaking and vibration that likely goes on in the bag. I do have a hunk of foam cut out to hold everything snug, and could do the same for the K20... but still...
(I ride a Royal Enfield Bullet, by the way. A Big 500cc single thumper)

Even this bag is less than ideal for carrying, and in access. and of course does me no good at all when riding my plastic fantastic scooter(s).

I haven't been able to really find anything motorcycle-specific so far, such a weatherproof, quick-release dSLR tank bag that converts to a crry bag. (patent pending! no stealing my idea!)