Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-25-2009, 02:08 AM   #1

Rechargeable batteries (again)

I've searched the forum and see where most of the users are on this issue, however, would like to get more specific feedback.

I recently got the K-x and never even opened the Li battery pack. Been using my old rechargeables Powerex Imedion (2100mAh). I suspect that this type of battery may not be the best choice for the camera, for a few reasons:

1. Low mAh compared to some other batteries (2700mAh). Demanding electronics need a little more juice. I've tried two sets of fully charged batteries (in Powerex MH-C9000 charger) and never got past 40-50 shots before green signal turned orange. Haven't gotten red yet and the orange does go back to green after turning the camera off for a while. I'm still new to DSLR, do a lot of reviewing on the screen, changing options etc. Not much flash or live view. I wonder how long it will take before battery indicator turns red? During a single session, I never took more than 25-30 shots, before shutting the camera down. I would continue later the same day or the next day and after another 20 or so shots the green would turn orange.

2. Imedion are low discharge batteries. Good if they're sitting around for a while or in devices that are not power hungry and can work for a long time on a single charge, such as remotes, clocks etc.

I intend to get a set of nice 2700mAh, and would probably go with Powerex again. I see that many folks have religious relationship with Eneloops, but from some mixed reviews on several forums and amazon, I don't see they are a clear winner over Powerex or even Rayvacs.

Any thoughts?

P.S. the battery option in my K-x is set to NiMH (also tried "Auto", but the NiMH seems more accurate)

12-25-2009, 03:23 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Are you using the latest firmware?
12-25-2009, 03:56 AM   #3

Original Poster
But, of course...

Any other thoughts?