Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 6747 Likes Search this Thread
02-01-2018, 11:46 AM   #6526
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Aslyfox Quote
there has been a reduction over time of rain fall here in Kansas in recent years compared to earlier recorded data

this site has the info from 1981 to 2010

Climate Kansas - temperature, rainfall and average

the question that is unanswered is whether this is a return to normal after a " wet " period or a change due to climate change or other factors

the underground aquifer is being depleted rapidly

Projecting the future of the Ogallala Aquifer | HPPR

If you look at things from the perspective of a paleontologist, on the timescales we use, the only thing that's "normal" is change. Trouble with humans (one among many): we don't want anything to change unless we do it. I learned that the Ogallala was doomed when I was an undergrad in the 1960's, and is there a realistic solution in place 50 years later?

02-01-2018, 11:49 AM   #6527
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by savoche Quote
Back on topic...

Here's a square-lipped rhino that we managed to get fairly close to on one of our walks.

That is a magnificent beast. Glad the aphrodisiac collectors haven't gotten to it.

OOOO! Hope that big gray guy doesn't try to steal the food I'm stealing from the birds.
Attached Images

02-01-2018, 12:37 PM - 2 Likes   #6528
Site Supporter
Site Supporter