Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 6154 Likes Search this Thread
07-09-2021, 12:05 AM - 6 Likes   #6376
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

another of my speckled bush cricket friends

07-10-2021, 03:51 PM - 3 Likes   #6377
Veteran Member

A very cooperative locust I met while hiking today. This is my first attempt at a small handheld stack. It's only 12 exposures but it kinda worked, as a proof of concept. I need steadier hands. K-7 & Irix 150mm f./2.8.

07-10-2021, 04:38 PM - 3 Likes   #6378
Veteran Member

This spider is eating well (Stinkbug this time)

Same spider from: Sad Grasshopper (and a spider!) - PentaxForums.com

07-20-2021, 07:33 PM - 5 Likes   #6379
Veteran Member

Hoverfly in a chicory flower.

Horsefly? I think. It looks a little different than the ones that usually try to bite me. I love its eyes.

07-21-2021, 05:53 AM - 6 Likes   #6380
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
07-23-2021, 06:25 AM   #6381
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Those Dolichopodidae Long-Legged Flies are great subjects. I've never got one in flight, eve by accident.
07-23-2021, 02:17 PM - 1 Like   #6382
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by TER-OR Quote
Those Dolichopodidae Long-Legged Flies are great subjects. I've never got one in flight, eve by accident.
Well I decided to try the pop up flash for another bug. So when I turned and shot this one I noticed that it took off when the flash went off. Sometimes it would land right away, sometimes it would fly a bit and land. But also I guess there is a short pre-flash that goes off, so in most of the shots, the fly was in the air. This was the only one that came out useable.

07-24-2021, 05:30 AM - 2 Likes   #6383
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by Philoslothical Quote

Hoverfly in a chicory flower.

Horsefly? I think. It looks a little different than the ones that usually try to bite me. I love its eyes.