Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
11-18-2015, 07:03 PM - 1 Like   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Free Lens Photography - Share your free lens shots

For those of you who do not know, free-lensing is using a lens with it's mouont removed to take pictures. You hold the lens freely above the camera's lens mount, and can tilt it, shift it, and move it in-and-out for different effects. It is essentially a poor man's tilt shift lens, but with added effects like lens flare and ghosting (if desired). A more in-depth explanation is available in the link below...

Freelensing: Make a DIY "Poor Man's Tilt-Shift" by Breaking a Cheap Prime Lens

I've been doing free lens photography for the last two years with a dismantled Pentax SMC M 50mm F2. I recently upgraded my free lens lens to a M 50mm F1.4. Here are some of my images...

Last edited by geomez; 11-19-2015 at 04:49 PM. Reason: Fixed the link
11-18-2015, 09:53 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Pretty neat, I did this inadvertently a couple years ago when I got a Tak 200/5.6 but didn't have an m42 adapter handy. I simply held the lens to the mount and took a couple snaps... the center was sharp, but one side was blurry. Your pics have convinced me this is a worthwhile experimentation.
11-19-2015, 04:37 AM   #3
Veteran Member

It's something I'd like to try. I was also going to make my own tilt-shift lens with some bicycle inner tube but never got around to sourcing a donor lens. Maybe some projects for the new year
11-19-2015, 04:35 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by veato Quote
It's something I'd like to try. I was also going to make my own tilt-shift lens with some bicycle inner tube but never got around to sourcing a donor lens. Maybe some projects for the new year