Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 5206 Likes Search this Thread
02-07-2018, 03:51 PM - 1 Like   #166
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by paulh Quote
Lake Grapevine, located between Dallas and Ft Worth, near DFW Airport. Practically in my backyard, too
When I went to TCU as a grad student I used to go to Benbrook and Lake Worth a lot.

The thing I HATE about Texas to this day (I was back just a few weeks ago for a family wedding and we went to Pedernales and hiked Austin trails) is that you CANNOT walk on the countryside. And the countryside is FILLED with UGLY junk to keep people out.

What a sad excuse for a place to want to be. (Forgive me for saying this.)

In Newfoundland you just stop your car and get out. Wilderness (not always pristine, but dirty for different reasons) is everywhere. There is nothing and no one to stop you. I do of course realize the population pressure differences. But then I used to live in northern Minnesota and the Quetico earlier in my life too. There simply just are other models than total private ownership by plutocrats or plutocratic corporations.

Last edited by jgnfld; 02-07-2018 at 03:57 PM.
02-07-2018, 09:04 PM   #167
whafrog

A couple in B&W at Grand Beach, on the shores of Lake Winnipeg. The lumps in the distance are early ice (from November or so) piled up and wind-carved into "regularly-irregular" bumps. The wind has scoured the loose snow away, to reveal the frozen sand/ice of the beach. We then had a brief warm spell (about -2C, or 30F), got some sleet and freezing drizzle, but all that's left of that are the arrow bits in the wind-shadow of the frozen pebbles, and the stuff clinging to the stick like a tattered flag. It was about -25C that day, with a stiff wind. The GoPro died early, but the K-70 kept on trucking...

And where all that sleet ended up? Behind the dunes, like frozen whipped cream...
Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-70  Photo