Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-20-2019, 06:47 AM - 1 Like   #196
Unoriginal Poster
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Minimonster Quote
I have to say I'm finding things much easier being on holiday... Perhaps giving up work is the answer.
I used to do that in my youth to have time for snowboarding. There must have been some drawback as I gave up and started real work at some point

04-20-2019, 01:22 PM - 1 Like   #197
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Not going to weigh in here with some crack about being retired (which I am).
04-20-2019, 04:19 PM   #198
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by iheiramo Quote
I used to do that in my youth to have time for snowboarding. There must have been some drawback as I gave up and started real work at some point
I worked in the tourist industry for five years, moving to a place for the season so I could work a lot of hours (80+ hours/week), make some money, and be in a really great place, near the ocean, or in the mountains, to enjoy my limited time off. At the end of the season, I'd move to the next attraction, and do a little travelling and sightseeing during the move and enjoying the slow build up to high season. I really enjoyed that lifestyle for a time. Then I noticed that I wasn't really going forward with my life, so I stopped doing that circuit. During that time, I did have a lot of fun and saw some cool places, I learned that a few long weekends in a quarter could replace a two week vacation once a year. Now, I am ,more willing to take a day off to go and do something fun when I have the chance. Even with my new schedule, if the weather is good, I will stop during my commutes back home to check out some interesting place along the way.
04-22-2019, 01:38 AM - 1 Like   #199
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by blackcloudbrew Quote