Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 134 Likes Search this Thread
08-03-2019, 05:17 PM   #91
Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
While on the subject of duplicate threads, even when the titles are perfectly consistent, there will always be times when where there is a flood of posts to older threads, so it is always worth scanning down to check a new daily thread has not already been posted and displaced downwards.

Most of us have missed them in the past, myself included. When it happens it's easily fixed, so don't let it spoil your day

08-03-2019, 05:24 PM   #92
amateur dirt farmer
Loyal Site Supporter

I've done it recently... it happens...
08-03-2019, 07:00 PM - 1 Like   #93
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Chris_K Quote
I have no knowledge on the Takumars, but technical specs say that 8-element version is 15 g heavier than 7-element one. If that is correct, maybe you could use accurate balance to determine, which version do you have?
QuoteOriginally posted by OzzRod Quote
I have two copies of the 7-element version. Copy 1 weighs 239g. Copy 2, which still exhibits a lot of Thorium tinting weighs 241g. I didn't realise Thorium weighed so much.

My 8-element version weighs 244g without any Thorium tinting, somewhat short of the c. 255g that I might have expected. Perhaps it isn't the rarer version after all; that sure is a light 8th element .
Weighed: 232g. That pretty much settles it - it's a 7 element. It's also identical, rear-element wise, to the other Super-Tak 7-element I have (no protrusion of the glass itself). The only oddity, then, is the "A" and "M" designations under the switch. I'm guessing that there was some extra inventory of this particular part left over from the 8-element, and these were incorporated in construction of the new 7-elements until they were used up. Kinda fascinating.
08-03-2019, 10:29 PM   #94
Loyal Site Supporter