Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-26-2010, 07:59 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Good day

Hello,
Joined up a few days ago with the intent of lurking and learning, but I just couldn't help myself posting in a bird photography shot. So I might as well do the proper thing and post here.

Right. I'm a biologist/musician from Amsterdam. I tend to flip between periods of intense music writing and bad photography, and at present it's the latter. I've been doing this since I was a kid, and I've been using Pentax pretty much the whole time (started with my dad's ME, still have his MX). My main subjects are wildlife and bands.

So far, photography has mostly been about documenting for me. I can still be extremely ecstatic with a blurry pic showing just enough detail to allow for proper identification of some weird bird flying over. But since I went digital maybe four years ago, I've been realising that with a big memory card I can now afford to take so many pictures in a row that I can actually spend some time on the composition of a few of them. New phase, and that's why I'm here, really.

I'll probably mostly be absorbing knowledge, limiting myself to comments on wildlife pics. I hope that's OK.

Oh, my kit. Eh, it's in my profile. These days I pretty much exclusively use my k100D in combination with a cheap f=5.5-5.6 Tamron 80-200 mm AF lens or my ancient Novoflex Noflexar f=8/600 mm manual fast-focusing lens.

I've read the rules, but that won't mean I make any accidental slip-ups. I take very well to being corrected, so knock yourself out .

Orang

06-26-2010, 07:31 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome aboard. Looks like the Photolady has some competition in the Avatar. I'm actually going to have to look at the name from now on..