Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-10-2010, 12:52 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
What a great find, and my Rip Van Winkle experience

What a great forum to find.

I've been using Pentax cameras on and off since about 1979 or 1980 when I volunteered to be a photographer for the school yearbook and was issued a KX-1000 and sent off to some seminars for training. There are a lot grainy b&w photos in the ancient archives of some midwestern middle and secondary schools thanks to that. I also did most of my own processing from then until about 1989 when my free/cheap darkroom access ended. I lost my personal camera equipment in a weird accident in Lisbon about 1994, and made do with inferior, non SLR stuff until about 2005/6. At that time a friend had a istD that was sitting neglected and I was loaned that and a pair of middling zoom AF lenses. I have been playing with that kit intermittently the last few years. What a great camera. Having basically "taken a little nap" from my photography hobby, what a shock it is to effectively jump from SF10-type technology c. 1993 to then picking up an istD in 2005. A bit like Rip Van Winkle.

She's finally reclaiming the istD, so I did some noodling and bought a istDS myself this week, and some various lenses and a quality flash to go with it. Lurking on here for the last two weeks has really helped me find a huge wealth of technical opinions to help me fix some of the consistent problems I was having with IQ on the istD (short answer - junk the mid-level zooms and get a better flash!). I had some reasons for wanting to stay with the istD/DS platform for now, then jump to the newer K types in about two years.

Last edited by Oro; 08-10-2010 at 12:57 AM.
08-10-2010, 02:42 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Welcome! I'm glad you've found the site so helpful