Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-16-2010, 01:43 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Albums
Lovn' it in Oregon

This forum looks like it will be very helpful and informative.
I left the film era behind (I still miss that good old Canon AE-1), moved on to a Nikon Coolpix 5700 and now have a K100D Super with the standard kit lens and a Tamron 18-300 zoom.

I'm loving digital but there is a lot to learn. I just started shooting in RAW, for instance, and now I find my photos are PEF files and am having issues using or even opening them. I must be missing something simple, as I had no issues until I switched to the RAW setting.

Looking forward to sharing and learning with this forum

08-16-2010, 02:40 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Welcome to the forum. I don't shoot Raw, so I can't help you with your question, but someone will definitely answer your question.
08-16-2010, 05:04 PM   #3
Forum Member

Not sure if you are a Windows or Mac user but if you use windows try downloading the "Free" Windows Live Photo Gallery software or Picasa if you dont have the software that came with the camera anymore.
08-17-2010, 10:57 AM   #4
Inactive Account

Original Poster
I'm using a PC with Win 7 and I have been using Live Photo Gallery for a while. But now I get a message that says, "Photo Gallery can't open this photo. The file may be unsupported, damaged or corrupted". I only run into issues when trying to work with pics taken in RAW.

A recent photo class had encouraged using RAW.

08-17-2010, 11:45 AM   #5
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome fellow Oregonian.