Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-31-2007, 09:04 AM   #1

ugh, my noob/intro thread

hey everyone,

i've played around with photography on and off for a couple years, but haven't really taken it seriously. i recently bought a k100d kit, tripod, some filters, flash, etc and have been much more successful this time around (being the 3rd time I've purchased an SLR).

i had a 1st gen Rebel G, shot it for a couple months then sold it, then when the d50 first came out, picked one up, shot it for a couple months then sold it. but now it's different, i have time to go out in shoot, i live in a beautiful city and am putting together a home studio for portrait and macro/product work.

i'm from washington state and have lived all over oregon, washington and texas. i'm a professional chef by trade, culinary school graduate and an avid culinarian/culinazi/food snob which is where photography fits into my life, hoping to dive into "food pr0n" as my main hobby.

CN: i'm a chef from seattle, born again thrice photographer

09-01-2007, 05:53 AM   #2

Welcome born again photog! Will be nice to see your shots. As a chef, I would be so tempted to take food shots. Interesting aside, I ditched a D50 myself after using it only a couple of months. Since I have no personal aspirations of greatness or burning desire to upgrade to this or that, I do believe I'll hang on tight to my 100D - it has certainly been my "happy" cam.
09-01-2007, 08:52 AM   #3
m8o
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Lol ... I'm pretty sure I know what that handle represent (you're going to have to provide a link to your gallery with pix of the monster in your sig )... but boy that's a lot of letters! (really bites into your post's realestate)

Nice ta meet ya. You already got the best upgrade there is ... tripod!
09-02-2007, 12:01 PM   #4

Original Poster