Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-02-2010, 12:48 PM   #1

hello from the UK (switching to Pentax)

hello, I'm dCap

I joined the forum about a week ago and read all 31 or so pages of the the big long thread on the Pentax K-5, phew, do I get a badge for reading it all?

I've been shooting since 1987, as a keen amateur. I was Canon from 1987-2004, wish a dash of Olympus OM-1 and Mamiya TLR and RB67 during that time. Then I dumped Canon and went to KonicaMinolta Dynax 7D in Jan-05. I quit KM when the 7Ds were failing due to a design flaw and KM refused to help, sold to Sony, I had the Sony a100 for a short period. Then I went to Nikon, had the D700 for about 18 months. Now I'm in Olympus (E-30 + two pro zooms) but they've pretty well quit the dSLR market now. So time to find a new system.

My plan is to get a Pentax K-5 with Voigtländer Ultron 40mm f2 and leave it at that.

I've shot a little over 136,000 images since Jan-05, clocked several cameras (passed the 10k mark and seen the frame number return to 0001) ... now I shoot less, a lot less, and am switching to editing a have a new website to design next week and over the next few months.

What do I shoot? Stuff now. I used to shoot animals, a lot, 1987-2008 ... but now I'm more keen to shoot other things. I love shooting a project. In fact I'm very project focussed. I shoot a pic-a-day through 2008 (366x images) and then carried on until day 627 when I could take no more. Before that I set-up and shot a monthly pic-a-day with one prime lens in a Minolta forum.

I love to shoot but have neglected my shooting for a good few months, at the moment I'm editing my archive and ready to get a camera in hand and jump into a new project. 2011 I'll be doing a 52 locations, one a week. Shoot what I see.