Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-08-2010, 10:54 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
Greetings from Saint Paul, MN

Hello everyone,

I've been cruising the forums here for a couple weeks. I had been using my first DSLR (a Canon Rebel XS) for a couple months and realized that I'd essentially never be able to afford decent EOS lenses. After a bit of digging (mostly here--thanks for all the great info, everyone), I decided Pentax was the way to go, with some really great old lenses and more-or-less full backwards compatibility. I got a great deal on some M series lenses (28mm f/2.8, 50mm f/1.4, 135mm f/3.5, and a Vivitar Series 1 70-210mm f/3.5), a whole bag of filters, and an old MX SLR body. That sealed the deal--a bag of great little metal lenses! I immediately sold my Rebel XS + kit + 50mm lens on craigslist and picked up a used k10D (~750 clicks) + kit (for less $$!). The K10 body and kit lens are a world apart from my old Rebel XS setup in terms of quality and features. I only wish I had picked up the K10 first!

Anyway, this place has been an invaluable source of info as I've become acquainted with my new gear. Hopefully I can contribute as I learn the ropes.

Cheers,
Kris

Last edited by kkersten; 10-08-2010 at 11:27 AM.
10-08-2010, 08:38 PM   #2
Veteran Member
Otis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis Fan

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome! I had the K10D before my K20D and loved it! It is a fine camera and I have many shots I cherish from it.
I've been to your parts a couple of times....once in a January many years ago...once was enough! The day I left here on a Jan 3rd at 7pm it was 72F, and when I arrived at near midnight at the (what was fairly new then) Airport there was three feet of snow and it was 17F. I had on a sport coat.....
This is more to my liking......stay warm up there!

Best Regards and enjoy the Forum here!
[IMG][/IMG]
10-08-2010, 09:51 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery