Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-13-2007, 10:03 AM   #1
Inactive Account

What's in a name?!

DigiNoob pretty much sums it up!

Hi all! My name is Jack and I am from Columbus, GA. As my name implies, I'm a newbie to digital photography. I took graphic arts and learned some photography and developing skills but that was many years ago. My first SLR camera was the Pentax K1000 (35mm) that I bought and used extensively while I was in the Army assigned to a US Embassy Flight detail in Central and South America. At some point, I graduated to the Pentax SuperProgram, and even later to a Pentax Zx-50. A couple of years ago, I purchased a digital Canon PowerShot S1 IS (I know... Canon... sacriledge!) but yearned to go back to an SLR.

As of last night, I bought a Pentax K10D body for $529 at BestBuyCameras.com - Welcome! to take advantage of the Pentax $50 rebate (bringing price down to $479).

I still have my Pentax lenses (SMC Pentax-F 1:4.7 - 6.6 80-200mm & 1:4 - 5.6 35-80mm) which I am told is backwards compatible to the K10D.

I almost went with the K100D, being that the same vendor had those for a very reasonable $279 (and then apply the $50 rebate!) but decided instead to GO BIG with the 10mp model.

My hobbies are computers, jeeps (got a restored '55 CJ5), sci-fi, travelling, camping and anything tiki, which I enjpy with my wife Susan. We got our own crude website if anyone is interested (The Storey Website).

I'm a mainframe computer programmer for TSYS, a Fortune 500 company. Susan is an Executive Assistant for Aflac (yeah, the company with the duck commercials!).

Sorry so long. Just seems a lot to share when introducing ones self!

Last edited by DigiNoob; 09-13-2007 at 11:04 AM.
09-13-2007, 11:53 AM   #2
Veteran Member