Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-22-2010, 09:37 AM - 1 Like   #1
Veteran Member

Pentax Neophyte

Hey all, just wanted to quickly introduce myself, as I hope to be posting here soon, and mining the forums for info. I'm a professional photographer who shoots mostly portraits, but also a bit of commercial and other odds and ends. Basically, I shoot anything, but make most of my income from portraiture. My main camera is currently a Nikon D3.

After trying a couple of different Nikon cameras for backup, I decided I need to have a D700. Then the D7000 was released and it got me thinking that maybe I didn't have to have a FF body as my backup. At the same time, recently, I have just begun to explore old glass and alternative glass, and have quickly developed a feel for manual focus lenses. Often, when I was looking at some fairly uncommon lens, I couldn't find an F-mount copy, but saw a K-mount available. Which started me off thinking: "Does my backup body reeeally have to be a Nikon??"

Sure, it probably should be, for ease of transition in cases where I would have to actually USE my backup. However, the thought of spending a lot of money on a body which was meant to be used ONLY when something was amiss with my D3 doesn't sit altogether well with me. But I love photography, love messing with new gear, etc. So, my logic is that if I pick up a Pentax system, I will have a lot of fun with it, as well as have access to a whole new range of glass. In other words, it will get used. A lot. And therefore I will become very familiar with it, and it will not be any problem at all if I am "forced" to use it.

Anyway, that was a bit long-winded. Here's the short version: I just ordered a Pentax K-7 and a DA 70/2.4, which should arrive Tuesday. And I'm here because the crowd looks friendly, and knowledgeable, and I'm gonna need some help as I explore the new system. So, hi.

10-22-2010, 09:59 AM   #2
Veteran Member