Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-29-2010, 06:58 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
New guy here. Glad I found this site

Like the title says, I'm very glad I found this site. I'm new to photography. About as new as one can get. LOL. I've had a few point n shoots, but I'm ready to actually take nice pictures.

I was never big into taking pictures until about 3 months ago when my first child was born. Since then I find myself taking more pictures than I know what to do with. And I totally see the joy in photography. Capturing that one moment that says a million words.

Anyways, I've been researching heavily and decided to go with a new Pentax kx (white). I love the features, and LOVE the color of the camera itself. Ordering it tomorrow from adorama. Can't wait to get started. And see what I can learn from everyone on the forum. Thanks

Joey

12-29-2010, 07:06 PM - 1 Like   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hi Joey and welcome! Congrats on your new K-x. Once you get your camera and have questions feel free to ask! I think you will find the most help over at the beginners forum here

NaCl(have fun and don't forget to share your shots)H2O
12-29-2010, 07:31 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Welcome.

If you are finding the joy of photography on your first child, get a fast lens.

Any normal zoom like 16-50, 17-50, 18-50 etc with a constant aperture of f2.8 [and these are made by pentax and cheaper by sigma or tamron] will do wonders for your love of photography. If you have more patience [and the money] get a prime lens to take portrait shots, the da 70mm is superb.
12-29-2010, 08:35 PM   #4
Forum Member

Original Poster