Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-09-2011, 07:05 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
New Member - Old Dilemma

While on my research mission for my first DSLR, I've come to your forum to help with my decision.

I've been shooting for over 40 years, but when it came time to change over from film to digital, I lost my motivation/inspiration for some reason.

Fast forward to now, I've narrowed my search down to a couple Pentax bodies.

I was going to buy a K-r, but it is a little above my budget.
I have now settled my mind on finding a used K20D.

One of my biggest concerns is the heft and weight of the body, and where I live (in the boonies), I have no way to feel and hold any of these bodies.

So, I continue my research here, and can feel my motivation coming back from reading through all the threads here.

I'm sure you will here more from me once my mind is made up and I make that purchase.

01-09-2011, 07:13 PM   #2
Ash
Community Manager
Loyal Site Supporter

Welcome and I'm sure you'll find the K20D well worth your money.
It's a very solid, well-designed enthusiast body.
Now all you need are some decent lenses to get you going.
01-09-2011, 07:18 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Thanks for the welcome!

I kind of feel like I am back home after 10 years of being away.

I already have a short list of lenses I want but first have to score that body before I can move on.
01-09-2011, 07:32 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
If you are going to put a grip on it and use a 3-pound lens, or frequently use a tripod, the actual body weight is not so important.

01-09-2011, 07:41 PM   #5
Veteran Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by SpecialK Quote
If you are going to put a grip on it and use a 3-pound lens, or frequently use a tripod, the actual body weight is not so important.
True that -