Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-19-2011, 12:15 PM   #1

Hello from PA

I am a PGA Golf Professional and bought a K-x last October and still learning the camera! I can't wait for the weather to break so I can get out! I am looking to take pictures mostly of golf courses and outdoor related subjects! I have found a lot of useful information on here and look forward to all the great help I have seen from other users! And if you need any Golf Advice Please Ask!!

Thank You,

Brian D. Potts, PGA Professional
Twitter: bpottspga

01-19-2011, 12:31 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Welcome! I am a golf amateur with a Handicap of 20.4 looking to bring that down to about 15 but my putting is keeping me from doing so. The Kx is a great camera and this forum is a great tool to learn to use that Kx so be sure to take some time and explore as much of this website as you can. Enjoy!
01-20-2011, 02:13 PM   #3
Ash
Community Manager
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Good to have you here Brian.
Thinking of endorsing Pentax in your tours?
01-20-2011, 06:33 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Welcome to the forum Brian! Looking forward to seeing some of your shots. Good luck in the tour!

01-22-2011, 07:22 AM   #5
Ira
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome, Brian!

For golf shooting, I would think you definitely want to have an ultra wide angle (UWA) in your bag, like the Sigma 10-20. I don't know anything about golf (although where I live all of my friends play every day), but a UWA is fantastic for those on-the-green shots. The Pentax 10-17 is great too, but the 10 gives you a fish-eye look which while really nice for some shots, you're not going to want it for EVERY shot.

And I actually do need some golfing advice:

How do I keep the windmill blade from knocking the ball away from that little door I'm trying to shoot into?