Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-24-2011, 04:49 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
kr - newbie - queries

hello all,
i'm a newbie from australia. happy new year to all.

i've been scouring the forum for info for the past couple of months & finally decided to get a kr kit lens package. i'm a convert from p&s to dslr.

the saga begins here.
upon purchasing my new dslr, took it home, charged the li-on battery for approx 4 hrs. all joy at present. inserted the battery, switch it on, main language screen..beauty!
entered language, time/ date settings came on. whilst inputing the details, all the sudden, the lcd when blank. thought a moment, perhaps the battery wasn't fully charged.
anyway cut the long story short, i repeated the whole process above but this time it won't even startup. disappointed, took it back to the shop the next day & got another one. so far so good. price wise pretty good au$740 w/ 18-55 dal kit lens.

1. question: is this just a one off or has anyone had the same problem?

next
2. i've played around with this camera w/kit lens & found a few pix are quite soft.
please see attached pix (my distant niece_)
3. question: how can i improve this or do i need to get another lens. if so please do post an advise. currently i've got my eye on the DA* 16-50 mm F2.8 ED AL [IF]
please comment if this is is a killer (winner i mean)

Attached Images

Last edited by jk2011; 01-24-2011 at 05:23 AM. Reason: missed cue on pix attachment
01-24-2011, 05:25 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Welcome!

The first k-r was apparenty broken - I don't think that is a common issue (otherwise it would probably be hard to miss here . Like getting your candy snatched away just when you were going to take a bite?