Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-03-2011, 01:18 PM   #1

warm wishes from the wet coast

Greetings and salutations fellow Pentaxians.

I have been lurking on the forum for a couple years and greatly appreciate the collective wisdom and community imparted within. I just recommitted myself to pentax with a K-5 purchase and thought I should become a contributor to the society, as this forum is part of the Pentax ecosystem that kept me with the brand. Believe it or not, this is the first internet forum I have ever joined instead of just lurking, so if my etiquette or responsiveness is lacking please take it with a grain of salt - I am a forum newb, not just a pentaxforum newb.

The last few years as a Pentax user have felt a lot like being a Mac fan back in the late '90s... lots of grief and anguish over a beloved, beleaguered brand, snide remarks from users of competing products and plenty of FUD. I thought long and hard about selling my gear and getting something else, but the competition just doesn't do it for me. Much as I respect the technical prowess of other brands, they never feel 'right' in my hands. Pentax finally seems to be hitting their stride. I like the 'think diffferent, be unique, scrappy underdog' persona that come with the brand. The K-5 appears to be a home run to me and the first 'new' SLR purchase I have made in over a decade - the last one being an MZ-5n (something about the 5's???)

I look forward to getting to know you better and sharing your passion.

sambo

02-03-2011, 07:40 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome sambo.....................

Never give up on quality imaging..............

That's why you are here today

02-04-2011, 12:27 AM   #3
Site Supporter

Vancouver, BC or Vancouver, WA?
02-04-2011, 08:20 PM   #4

Original Poster
Thanks for the welcome Postumus.
No worries about giving up on imaging, though it may wax and wane, I am afflicted for life
cheers