Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-03-2011, 08:55 PM   #1

Hello

Hello. My name is Partha Sur. I am a retired software engineer and live in New Jersey, USA. I have had some interest in Photography since the early seventies and have done only film photography. I have an old Pentax MX and some SMC-M lenses. I am entirely self-taught and have had no formal training. I do not own a digital SLR yet (I have a tiny digital Canon Powershot point-and-shoot). Since retiring I have resumed my hobby with my Pentax MX. I came to USA in 1984 and just could not find the time for any serious (?) photography - long hours at work etc. Well, I started with the tiny Rollei 35 (40 mm f/3.5 Xenar) in 1972 and learned how to take basic photos with it. It had no focusing mechanism! You had to guess the distance and set it on the lens scale after setting the aperture and shutter speed on the body. And no depth-of-field preview just the scale. It taught me how to think about the shot before clicking and then "fill the frame" and often to "get close and personal" - the 40 mm lens saw to that. It was a little awkward to use - the film advance lever was on the left and the flash had to be mounted underneath the body! But the optics was superb - very sharp lens with rich color. Perhaps it was the Rollei that interested me in "real world" street photography type photos. You could do landscapes with the Rollei but they were not that great - too distant. But I still miss the Rollei 35. Then I traded it in (a mistake) for a new Fujica SLR in 1974 (that is all I could afford then besides a Praktica.) I soon traded that (not a mistake) for a new Canon FTb - fantastic lens! I then bought a Tamron 85-210 zoom for the FTb for taking cricket photos (I lived in England then) but what I really needed was a 400 mm for that but it was too expensive for me. All this time I really longed for a Olympus OM1 - which I could not afford. Then the FTb was stolen a