Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-16-2011, 04:15 AM   #1

Hi from another newbie

Hi,

Have been enjoying this forum for a while and guess it's time to say hello

I'm new to pentax world with *IstDS currently as the only dslr but looking forward to upgrade it at some point. Until then I will (ab)use what I have and try to learn a lot about DSLR world.

My previous experience goes back to 1980's where I had a lot of different soviet cameras as my film SLRs (some of which I do still have around). Then some P&S's later and I'm back into the SLR world.

Anyway, nice to be here and I hope you will forgive my probably already asked many times before and possibly stupid questions I may ask about the old DS.
I promise to use search before asking something

02-16-2011, 06:01 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
welcome to the forum

i hope you've grabbed an m42 adapter for all those old soviet lenses you have kicking around. the Helios can be very good (along with some others) the industar 50 is the cheapest pancake on the market still and produces pretty good pictures
02-16-2011, 10:24 AM   #3
ovj

Original Poster
Thanks for advice, soviet lenses are cheap as dirt here so I will definitely try them out in addition to these I already have.
02-16-2011, 10:34 AM   #4
Veteran Member

i haven't tried many of them as they are a little rarer here. i started shooting in 73 with a Zenit e
Ebay has them but prices are only so so

the industar 50 is on my list, and the mir 37 i think maybe the jupiter 85mm
i shoot 2 different fed rangefinders and the jupiter 12 is an amazing little lens too bad there isn't an SLR equivalent. A lot of people like the 85mm jupiter for portraits

LBA is an incurable disease BTW (lens buying addiction)

02-16-2011, 10:35 AM   #5
Veteran Member

the ds BTW is a great little camera. better with flash for manual lenses as it works with TTL quite well