Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-03-2011, 09:46 AM   #1

Greetings! (And first Pentax problems)

Hello to all. I have been invited to inttroduce myself. I hope I am doing this correctly. I am new to Pentax, having been brand-loyal to Canon for 25 years, film and digital. Last year I decided that some fresh equipment would be interesting so I sold my Canon DSLR gear on eBay and, in December, bought a K-r . I cannot say that I have been overwhelmed by the results so far. I read that Pentax lenses are excellent but I have bought and returned for refund both a 35mm f2.4 and a 17-70 f4. The present 16-45 is a bit better but - dare I say it - not as good as my little Canon S90 compact. I am not returning it because three lenses cannot all be lemons. The fault must lie in me or the K-r body. I am wondering whether I should attempt fine adjustment of the auto-focus but the manual warns me of possible negative consequences. Sorry not to be a little ray of sunshine on my first appearance! I shall go to Focus on Imaging at the NEC next week and ask at the Pentax stand but if anyone else can make any suggestions I shall be very grateful. Cheers.

03-03-2011, 01:01 PM   #2
PEG Moderator
Loyal Site Supporter

Location: Highlands of Scotland... "Hold Infinity in the palm of your hand" - William Blake
Photos: Gallery
Welcome to the forum, rays of sunshine are not often expected in the UK.

Might I suggest a phone call to Pentax UK, or if purchased new, a word with the dealer or retailer you bought from, as I'm not sure the Pentax stand at NEC will be able to help much.
03-04-2011, 09:58 AM   #3

Original Poster
Many thanks, Kerrowdown. I shall have to go back to Jessops.
03-04-2011, 10:27 AM   #4
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums