Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-15-2011, 09:43 AM   #1

Introduction - and some help, please!

Hi, I'm a newbie here. Based in UK, I've been shooting pix for more years than I care to remember. Still using film (ME Super and Leica M7) but also digital with a Samsung GX-10 (surprisingly good) and a Panasonic LX3. Love them all - and love learning from others, too, despite my years of snapping.

I have started to think about doing some wildlife work, with the GX-10 as my kit until I upgrade (probably to the Pentax K5 for the better burst rate and low-light capability). Till then, I want a decent tele zoom and thought that the Sigma 100-300 f4 would be ideal, but there is no stock here in the UK - unless any member knows different (please let me know!). The Pentax fixed focus 300mm F4 is great by all accounts, but I would prefer a zoom that won't break the bank. Frankly, I guess I must have read every review for every lens up to 1000, but none seem to have that mix of attributes that the unavailable Sigma had. I don't need to go to 400mm, as the crop on the Samsung would give me more reach than I need, but if it meant getting really good IQ, then fine. I shoot with tripod or monopod.

Can I ask members for their experiences/advice with their own tele zooms in this mid-range?

Thanks

Ray

03-15-2011, 08:06 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Welcome to the forum Ray, it may pay you to ask your question in either the Pentax Beginners Corner of the Pentax K-5 Owners forum.
03-17-2011, 02:20 AM   #3
Moderator PEG Judges

Photos: Gallery
Welcome to the forum, have you been watching the likes of the marketplace here and Ebay to see if you can pick one secondhand.
03-18-2011, 02:07 AM   #4

Original Poster