Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-25-2011, 03:50 PM   #1

Hello from Maryland!

Hi all! Like many others I am a newbie to the world of DSLRs and came from a cannon superzoom. I purchased a K-X with the 18-55 kit lens back around black friday. I think I am ready to "upgrade" the kit lens at this point. I would like something faster with a little more reach.

Most of my picture taking is of my 19 month old son. I am thinking that i'd like a faster lens that I can use to take available light shots with of him.

I find most of the shots I take are from 30mm-40mm on my current lens. However, I think that may be in large part because that is where I percieve the lens to be performing the best.

As i've been perusing the various lens and options in the lens database I came across the Tamron Macro SP AF28-75mm F/2.8 XR Di LD. Would that lens be a good choice for taking indoor shots w/o a flash? Also, it seems that that lens has had a hike in its price? At this point where should I be looking to find that type of performance without breaking the bank?

Thanks for any input you guys have!

-Kevin

03-25-2011, 04:19 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Hey, Kevin, it's good to welcome another another MD Pentaxian!

That Tamron is a nice lens: I've got one and use it a lot. I'm like you in that I like to take indoor photos and don't like flash. The Tamron should do reasonably well on a K-x but the more light--and the more consistent the light (that is, not mixed)--you can get on your subjects, the better.
03-25-2011, 04:52 PM   #3

Original Poster
Thanks for the input Dave. I live near Baltimore by the way.
Yeah, I've found in the past few months that the lighting seems to be really crucial. I just hate the harshness of the flash.