Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-06-2011, 09:06 AM   #1

Hello from Canada

Hello Everyone, I am a longtime amateur Pentax owner/user who is about to switch from film to digital format, and am looking to learn about it. I hope to use some M42 takumars I have on a K7 body. I've been researching serial numbers on 50mm 1.4 lenses, trying to determine at what point the lenses transition from 8 element to seven. I am also looking for some missing parts for my auto bellows and will post details in the marketplace. It has been my feeling for years that Pentax equipment was under appreciated by the "pro crowd". How interesting that in today's market, the old thread mount takumars are sought after and one reads about "smooth and silky action", "precise focusing", all metal construction! Never imagined we'd get to that!

04-06-2011, 01:53 PM   #2
rhe
Closed Account

Welcome I am sure you will enjoy your stay.

What part of Canada?

I am a former Nikomat owner/user and am very glad that I switched to digital and to Pentax!
04-06-2011, 06:40 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Welcome to the forum! I just ordered my M42 adapter and a couple Russian lenses to go with it last week. I'm looking forward to playing with them.
04-06-2011, 08:05 PM   #4
Arn
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hi, Takboy, and welcome to the forum. I also have a few old Takumar lenses, and love using them. Re the 50/1.4, I have one of the 1964 8-element copies - love it! The best info on what to look for is here on the forum Super-Takumar 50mm F1.4 (Early 8-Element Variant) Reviews - Pentax Lens Reviews & Pentax Lens Database
Just to show you, attached is a shot of my lens, and you can see the IR mark to the right of the lefthand 4. All of the lenses with 7 elements have the IR mark on the left of the 4. Hope this helps.

Attached Images

04-07-2011, 05:52 AM   #5

Original Poster