Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-28-2011, 04:39 AM   #1

About me

About me

Hello everyone

First, I am sorry for my poor English (I'm helped by "Google Translation"). Then I have to say that I am not a fan because I'm not fanatical about anything!

I have a solitary nature and I am very critical about the social world.

I need to create to assume myself as someone different, and not to feel me persecuted by the "main stream". That's why I make music, I write, and I take pictures. I do not need a large audience to persevere because I am not professional. I am a true amateur who must create to survive.

My main inspiration is music. But I have a very contemplative character, and I can not satisfy myself only with the things that move. Music is like movies, it is fleeting. Pictures are like literature, you can take all your time before turning the page!

I live in Charleroi, Belgium. It is a city that has a long history of mining and steel industries. Today, it remains little more than traces. So it is with a great pleasure that I step on the slag heaps, overgrown vegetation, and I take pictures of the city and industry.

I started with a Pentax ist-DL that I bought second-hand for 250 EUR, with its 18-55. But I quickly used old prime lenses that are to me as "crystal balls": they allow me to bring up the ghosts of the past. I chose Pentax for its wide compatibility. I like to find some great old lenses on Ebay, and give them a second "digital" life. Each has its own personality. Obviously, I work mostly manual focus.

I recently bought the Pentax K-5 with the 18-135. I reserve this lens primarily for "tourism" or to "take notes" with the ist-DL. I much prefer my good old prime lenses to get my "good" pictures.

I am a reader of PentaxForum for a long time. Today, I signed up for an opportunity to share my opinion from time to time.

Thank you all.

04-28-2011, 05:14 AM   #2
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter