Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
05-21-2011, 10:07 PM   #1

Location: Redwood Valley, Nor*Cal (97--)/Pocatello,ID (90-97)/SoCal Born&Raised(71-90)
Hello from beautiful Redwood Valley, California!

Well, after trying out and sending back a couple of different DSLR's (Sony, Canon), I finally settled on the K-7, and I LOVE it! I am so glad to be with Pentax, they just seem like a more personal and friendly company than the big Canikon, and you seem to get more for your money. I had around 1000 to spend, and I simply could not find anything comparable among the other guys, and the K-7 is built like a tank, anything at this price range among the other guys is all plastic, that was a HUGE selling point for me. I mean, what good is a camera if you are afraid to take it outdoors?

I am new to the SLR World, though I've been taking photos for most of my 40 years I live in a very beautiful area, Mendocino County in Northwestern California, it is mega rich in photo opportunities, I hope to take advantage of all I can!

Well, that's me, I am happy to be a member, and hope to contribute as much to this site as I've already gained from it, you guys rock!

Edit-The setup I got from B&H http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/653421-REG/Pentax_17831_K_7_SLR_Digital_Camera.html

Any tips on good lenses would be great, or any other tips, info, etc., thanks!

Last edited by SoCalRailRoadGuy; 05-21-2011 at 10:55 PM.
05-22-2011, 01:32 AM - 1 Like   #2
PEG Moderator
Loyal Site Supporter

Location: Highlands of Scotland... "Hold Infinity in the palm of your hand" - William Blake
Photos: Gallery
Welcome to the forum, enjoy that new camera of yours, some great reviews on lenses right here on the forum, which you may find helpful.
05-22-2011, 02:04 AM   #3

Location: Redwood Valley, Nor*Cal (97--)/Pocatello,ID (90-97)/SoCal Born&Raised(71-90)
Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by kerrowdown Quote