Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-24-2011, 02:09 PM   #1

Hello from South Carolina!

An introduction forum, eh? Fair enough. My name's Rob. I enjoy walks on the beach in the fall and spring (too hot in the summer), blowing things up with my fellow northern-turned-redneck friends (fireworks are legal here!!), and sleeping next to my beautiful wife and our 3 large dogs. For a living, I am currently a Database Administrator; read: IT super-nerd.

After more than 10 years away from the SLR world, I have returned! I used to have a Ricoh and a Canon, would roll my own film and develop in my own darkroom. Sometimes I miss it, but the IT guy in me LOVES Photoshop. Not to overdo PP, but just for the simplest things (dust removal, slight sharpen/saturation, cropping etc.)

I have just ordered a K-r with the 50-200mm extra lens. I'm stoked! I knew nothing of Pentax before researching which camera to get. I spent HOURS deciding between the K-r, Nikon D3100 and Canon T2i. Between the rave reviews, great price I got on the kit via Amazon (under $700 for body and 2 lenses), and finding this absurdly useful forum, I pulled the trigger. It gets here tomorrow and I will start shooting right away! (I've already read through the manual...)