Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-10-2011, 04:41 PM   #1

New to Pentax

Hey All,

Names Mike and I'm new to Pentax. Always been a Canon guy, well just because. Recently I got a smok'n deal on a NIB K20D that just couldn't be passed up, so here I am.

Bit of background on me: Graduated with a BA in Photography, but unfortunately, I haven't really taken any "Photos" in 14+ years. No particular reason why, just got side tracked and time got away from me. In the past I've done mostly landscapes, but have experimented with some studio and lighting stuff as well. I'm a 35mm Transparency guy, but figured if I'm gonna start back in, might as well be in digital, plus I have no place to put a dark room, and always hated the chemicals.

So, here I am with a K20D in hand, 15-55 Kit lens at the ready, and I have no clue what I'm doing. Help will be needed and I expect to have a few dumb posts from time to time. If you need me, I'll be reading my Magic Lantern guide and cursing a lot. Feel free to shoot me some tips.

Looking into some new glass as well, kit lenses have never appealed to me, I like the primes, so recommendations are welcome

Mike

Last edited by M.Klapp; 08-10-2011 at 04:56 PM.
08-10-2011, 05:22 PM   #2
Giveaway winner!

Photos: Albums
Hey! Welcome to Pentax!!! ... Oh... I should say that I'm not a Pentax spokesman nor do I play one on television...

So, 18-55mm kit lens... good!
If you are not meaning Canon digital then you will not need too much warning that the K20D may look dimmer in results than others brands are default set to...That seems the popular note.
Do look over the manual of course... some important customizing things should be noted...or
Dive in...
I like shooting my K20D in M mode almost all the time. So I will not have much to say about any other modes... As I tend to almost mimic using my K20D as a film camera.