Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-20-2011, 06:02 AM   #1

New To Everything

Hi all, it's wonderful that this is here !! I am brand new to everything so I will be asking lots and lots of questions. Please bear with me. The most experience I have had with a camera is my dad's old Brownie, and then with the advent of disposables I thought my picture taking life was complete...lol. I was at a yard sale a few weeks ago and came across a Pentax ME Super, complete with flash attachment and several different lenses, nice leather case, etc. The man's daughter had purchased it while she was stationed in Germany and has moved on to digital. Had just had it cleaned and oiled or so he said. A steal at $5.00 for everything (except the instruction manual which I have since downloaded and printed off). Other than getting and installing new batteries, and loading film.........where do I start?? The lenses that came with it are: Rokunar 49mm, JC Penny Auto 2x Tele-Converter and a JCPenney Multi-Coated Optics (a zero with a vertical line through it) = 55 mm 1:4. 5f=80 - 200mm No.8235443. I'm already confused. There is nowhere close to take any kind of photography classes. Any type of guidance anyone can give me will be so greatly appreciated. I really am anxious to get started taking photographs.

09-20-2011, 07:34 AM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Well, I have a the ME Super as well... what can you say, it's a capable camera body. There's no worrying about sensor technology, just experiment and find what film works for what circumstances, and it seems you are quite comfortable with cameras on the whole. However, I detect more confusion around the lenses...