Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-03-2011, 10:30 AM   #1
Inactive Account

I am new here and in need of help !

Hi

I am new to group today. I have played with cameras for a few years but I now want to try new things and make it more of a hobby. I have owned a Pentax MZ 50 for around 15 years, got it out a few nights ago and it has something wrong with it. So I have purchased a new body as the lens on my original one was very expensive when I purchased it.
Yesterday I decided to by a Asahi Pentax spotmatic we think about the age of 1969. What I am wondering however is. I have found a lens on ebay which is a Asahi PK mount ( what does that mean ? ) and I have been told it will work with the MZ 50 but not the spotmatic ? Also when reading books and things what does the f mean ?
This is all new to me, I usually press and go ! I am so intrested in making this my hobby. Hope some one will help me.

Anyway my name is Marilynn I am in the UK and been married for 20 years. I have shown and bred pedigree cats for almost 16 years. We are off to Las Vegas next August to visit Grand Canyon for 4 nights then off to Nashville for 25 nights. I would love to be able to take some stunning pictures while we are away.

I do also own a Canon digital SLR and a small pentax digital. I hope I will get to know some of you. Thanks for your time Marilynn

10-03-2011, 10:53 AM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
The Spotmatic has a M42 screw mount (you screw the lens onto the body). The PK mount is also known as a bayonet mount. The PK lenses mount to the body with a quarter turn of the lens.

They have adapters for mounting a M42 lens to a PK body but I have never heard of a PK lens adapter for mounting to your Spotmatic.

Tim
10-03-2011, 11:20 AM   #3
Inactive Account

Original Poster
Hi Tim

Thanks for that. That is what we thought when reading the manual. I assume it would fit the MZ50 then. Marilynn
10-03-2011, 11:50 AM - 1 Like   #4