Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 4 Likes Search this Thread
10-04-2011, 01:20 PM   #1

From Canon to Pentax ?

Hi, I'm a passionate photographer who loves shooting mountain landscapes and kids portraits (have two daughters).
I live in Italy, near Bergamo, in a little town. I'm a Canon 40D user, my lenses are a 17-40mm, a 60mm macro, a 70-200mm f4.
I'm considering Pentax for my future kit, I really Iike light, compact and quality lenses of Pentax lineup. And the K5 too.
I need some advice for a compact definitive portrait / landscape lens kit...

This give you some idea of what I like to shoot...

10-04-2011, 01:45 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
The K-5 with the DA 15mm f/4 limited and the FA 77mm f/1.8 limited would be a pretty lethal landscape/portrait combo with the lightest/compact size. You don't get the weather sealing with those lenses though.
10-04-2011, 01:52 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Great photos! For a full setup, I would do this: the K-5, along with the 15mm, 43mm limited prime lenses, the 100mm weather resistant macro lens, and the DA* 50-135mm weather sealed lens would make a great kit. I would add the 18-55mm weather sealed kit lens as well just for bad weather. For shots like the one above I would be out with 2 lenses only, the 15mm and the 50-135mm, both of which are my favorites (in that order!).
10-05-2011, 01:12 PM   #4

Original Poster
Thanks for your replies. I was just thinking at the DA 15, FA 43, DA 70 (or FA 77) on a K5 body.
All can serve for landscapes from wide to tele; the 43 would be my walkaround lens for outdoor environmental portrait. I like the "longer than normal" focal length for walkaround.
The DA* 50-135 is a wonderful lens, but I'm changing for lightness... I have a wonderful Canon 70-200 f/4 IS, but stays at home too much...

I could skip the great 70/77 for the D FA 100 macro, I don't shoot so much macro, but it's always nice to have one just in case.