Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-11-2011, 02:37 AM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
Hi from Latvia

Hi, everyone!

I am from Riga (Latvia). I bought a new Pentax DSLR K-x at the beginning of 2011. It is my first DSLR camera and second digital camera. I bought the camera equipped with two standard kit DA lenses - 18-55 mm and 50-200 mm. I am quite satisfied with the camera. I use it in short trips quite frequently, mainly, to photograph landscapes or portrait+landscape (so-called travel photo). Sometimes I photograph the moon.
However, I sometimes luck the telephoto feature above 300 mm (35 film equivalent). I previously used point-and –shot camera Olympus SP-500 UZ that allowed optical zoom up to 350 mm (35 film equivalent). The standard DA lens 50-200 mm allows me to reach 300 mm (35 film equivalent). Sometimes, for example shooting the full moon, I want a little more than 300 mm. At the same I am not a professional photographer or very passionate amateur. So I have been looking for some cheap lens provides focal length above 300 mm (35 film equivalent). Recently I found out about a lens SMC Pentax-FA 100-300mm F4.7-5.8. This lens offers focal length up to approximately 450 mm (35 film equivalent). According to reviews in this forum, this lens is both quite cheap and good (for amateurs). And it seems to be fully compatible to Pentax K-x body. So I am considering buying this lens if I find a good offer on-line.
According the user’s manual of K-x, this lens should fit K-x, the AF, Auto aperture and P, Tv, A, M modes should work, etc. However, I am not very well-informed in technical details of lens, lens mounts and so on. So I am little hesitating and have some concerns about this lens compatibly to my camera (this lens is from film era). I will highly appreciate advice of more experienced users.

Faithfully,
Alberts

10-11-2011, 05:13 AM   #2

Photos: Albums