Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-18-2011, 09:49 PM   #1

Hello from San Diego CA

I'm new to the forum. I've had my k100d Super for almost 4 years. I'm a hobbyist that dreams of making some money to pay for my gear. I'm a software developer by day and enjoy taking pictures a lot more than post-processing them (too much time in front of the computer!).

My current self-challenge is to try shooting digital as if it was film - fixed ISO, no preview screen, 36 exposures. I read about it on digital-photography-school.com and I started a flickr group for anyone else who wants to take the challenge to share their best shots.

10-19-2011, 08:50 AM   #2

Hello right back at ya.

I do shoot as if I was 35mm, because that is how I learned. I also do no post processing but I do bracket shoot from time to time. I learned on Kodachrome 64 tranparency film which has a narrow exposure latitude and so metering was very important. I have never used preview and shoot using the pentaprism view only

And We had a vacation to San Diego last year and it has to be the most beautiful city in the USA.

We did all the museums, Gaslamp Quarter, Seaport Village, Zoo, Wild Animal Park, Historic Old Town....Seaworld, USS Midway etc etc...Del Coronado......

We ate a lot of burgers at the San Diego Bay Burger Company at Seaport and my son ate his way around the animal kingdom.

My other son is Fishtarian and he ate at the Greek place at Seaport.
10-19-2011, 05:18 PM   #3
Arn
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the forum. Love the self-challenge idea, and also love your city, although we haven't been down there for a while.
10-19-2011, 06:02 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Welcome aboard! I'm originally from Pomona, love San Diego, plan to be there again for a few days this January.