Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-31-2007, 07:04 AM   #1

Hello from Louisiana

Well I have been lurking around this site for a couple of weeks now and then I finally joined. I am totally new to this DSLR thing and I almost fell into the Canon/Nikon trap until I took the time to go to an actual camera shop. Most of the "professional" photographers up there lean towards the Nikon's however they were quick to point out the Pentax. Like most people in my category that feel they need to upgrade to the DSLR and follow the trend I thought Canon and Nikon were the way to go. With that said I thought the guy was trying to move inventory and push some junk on me. I took the brochure and went home to start doing home work. Needless to say I discovered Pentax is a great camera, especially for the money. Also I always would hear my neighbor across the street gripe about the prices of the lenses for his Canon 20D so I decided to do my homework on lenses for the Pentax. I was amazed at how inexpensive they are compared to the specialty lens for the Canon and Nikon. Any way I am sold on the Pentax and almost pulled the trigger on a K10D however I think I am going to hold out to see what the K200D will have to offer and what the price will be. If it is weather sealed and priced with the K10D I think it will be the camera for my wife and me. I am sure I will have lots of questions in the near future. Till then I have a lot of reading and learning to do. I don't know diddly about photography.
Louis

12-31-2007, 07:32 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the forum. (Anywhere near Slidell?) If you are just getting started, believe me that the K10D is plenty of camera for you for some time. Only with lightening fast shots, you might be dissapointed.
12-31-2007, 08:08 AM   #3

Original Poster
No I am up in Shreveport. I am originally from Baton Rouge, when I was a kid my parents moved up here.