Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-14-2012, 09:17 AM   #1
Total n00b Pentaxian
Loyal Site Supporter

Potential New Pentax User

Hello everyone! Nice to meet you all. I am a computer person by trade, but have always been interested in photography for as long as I can remember. I do not yet own a Pentax camera, but am currently thinking of buying one and hope to find some insight here.

I have always wanted an SLR since I was about 8 and I am finally looking to get one, if I can convince my wife it's worth the cost. I've been looking randomly the past couple years and was originally going to go with a Nikon. Then doing some price comparisons recently I thought a Cannon might be a bit better of a deal but then saw the new mirror-less cameras and got swamped even further in trying to decide. I started researching more into what to get and found quite a few favorable reviews for Pentax.

Since I am also thinking of getting a full spectrum conversion done, as IR seems pretty neat and some of the UV pictures of flowers I've seen are incredible, I looked into finding compatible cameras. It seems this is one area that the mirror-less cameras will really shine as they are always using the sensor, so when putting on an IR filter, it will still focus properly. But the cost isn't that much different for an Olympus PEN (what I was mostly looking at though the Sony and Samsung have a nicer sensor, as does the new K-01) or an entry level DSLR with a lot more features. The need to be able to mimic this ability of being able to use "Live View" to focus when using an external IR filter (since I'm doing the full spectrum conversion and not just an IR conversion as this will be the only camera I currently will have) though has ruled out the cheaper, older models easily acquired from eBay as they do not have live view.