Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-03-2012, 10:59 PM   #1

Here's to a hopeful start

Hello,

I'm a student in VA, USA who just started developing interest in photography. I have zero knowledge so the past few days, all I've been doing is reading about camera mechanics and photography tips.

I've been given a Pentax K1000, a Pentax K100D, and an Argus A3 from my father. Currently I've taken more interest to film-cameras, so I think I will play with the K100D later.

For now, I will continue learning more about things like exposure, depth of field, and all these confusing terms... that's just how I like to start things, I guess.

I'll make sure to ask any questions here if I have any, if people here would be kind enough to assist me.

Thank you, and I hope this will be the start of a long, enjoyable hobby.

03-04-2012, 01:09 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Welcome to the forum and the world of photography in general.

It sounds like you're off to a good start and like most people here you'll probably end up enjoying it for the rest of your life. Feel free to ask any questions you have, this is a large and helpful community and there's usually someone out there with the answer to any question.
03-04-2012, 01:14 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to Pentax forums!
03-04-2012, 06:45 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Welcome!

Hello Sorashira, Welcome to the Pentax Forum!
Yes, there is a lot to learn and many of the terms are confusing. But the ones you mentioned, exposure and depth of field (DOF) are pretty simple, if you look at it in a purely mechanical way.
The correct exposure is a result of the amount of light that passes thru the lens and the amount of time it is allowed to pass. We control both.