Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-03-2012, 05:38 AM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
Newbie from Texas

Hello all. Complete newbie here still looking to purchase my first DSLR.

I had a Nikon D7000 but had to return it after Nikon tech support and I were convinced of a defective AF. I was going for a replacement but stumbled on to this forum and decided to give the K5 a shot. It will take me a long long while and investments in great lenses before I can take quality pic but I'm good at learning from my mistakes. The pics in one of the threads were truly inspirational and ultimately convinced me to try the K5.

Really excited and looking forward.

04-03-2012, 07:46 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Original Poster
Just now read up on the Pentax's pricing strategy that started on 4/1. I'm a couple of days late. D'oh!

Are the lenses really that expensive? I guess my research continues.....
04-03-2012, 08:32 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Howdy! Glad to have another Texan here on the forums! There are quite expensive lenses, but then also some very (relatively) cheap wonders to be had in the Pentax world. If you don't mind all manual lenses, some of the Takumars are absolutely wonderful lenses, most of which can be had for <$150-200. The kit lenses as well are superb for a kit lens. If you need a telephoto zoom, I'd highly recommend the DA-L 55-300mm. It's my favorite lens out of the 3 that I own and I find it almost permanently glued to my K-r.

I'm sure some of the more experienced Pentax veterans here will be glad to lend you a hand in your search for that perfect glass.
04-03-2012, 11:28 AM   #4
Pentaxian

Original Poster
Thanks jbuck.

Whereabouts in the grand state of Texas are you located? I'm in Lubbock, home of Buddy Holly and the Red Raiders.