Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-03-2012, 06:00 PM   #1

Hello from Ohio!

Hello everyone!

Over the past 6+ months, I have been reading and researching a DSLR to take pictures of my family on vacation, etc.

Saturday night, I took the plunge and ordered a Pentax K-5 with the 18-55mm kit lens at the end of the "sale." I initially wanted the Nikon D7000, but something drew me to Pentax. I definitely like the smaller size and the weather sealing.

After reading a ton of lens reviews and looking at some amazing pictures, I'm on the verge of a lens buying addiction. I haven't received my camera and I've already ordered a SMCP-DA 55-300mm f/4-5.8 ED and a SMC-M 50MM F1.4 I found on ebay. The FA Limited Lenses are calling me in my sleep, and the 15mm Limited is controlling my mind!

I'm new to photography, but I think I've read enough over the past few weeks to be able to at least turn the camera on and snap a few decent pics! Tomorrow we shall see!

I usually keep to myself, but I may chime in here and there to ask a question or give an opinion.

Thanks for reading!

Chuck

04-03-2012, 06:03 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome aboard. Sounds like you have a solid kit to start with, you'll know you're in trouble when you want a Battery Grip for the K-5
04-03-2012, 06:06 PM   #3
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Great intro!
You've already been going through this forum's threads!
Beware, LBA is not far away...
But welcome!
04-03-2012, 06:20 PM   #4

Original Poster
Thanks for the welcome!

Oh, and I already have the battery grip on my wish list at B&H! (along with about $4,000 more worth of lenses)

A little at a time!

04-03-2012, 07:20 PM   #5
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by chuckn246 Quote
Thanks for the welcome!

Oh, and I already have the battery grip on my wish list at B&H! (along with about $4,000 more worth of lenses)

A little at a time!