Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-04-2012, 10:48 AM   #1

My first Forum to join.

Hi all,

I'm George from NY but now living in Louisville KY and recently bought the Pentax K-5 and the Pentax 100 macro lens from B&H Photo. I've been involved with photography for over 30 years. I'm a graduate of Rochester Institute of Technology in Biomedical Photographic Communications. I now specialize in Macro photography, " The world we normally do not see " , that can be very beautiful to look at. I have these pictures printed on canvas via Canvas on Demand Pro. I plan to get another lens that I've been doing research on , a " All in one lens " , something like 18mm to 135 or longer . Does anyone have an opinion as to which one is their best ??

04-04-2012, 11:01 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome aboard- I hope your experience here is an enjoyable one

As far as all-in-one lenses go, here's what I recommend:
Pentax SMC DA 18-135mm F/3.5-5.6 ED AL (IF) DC WR Lens 21977 B&H

It's indeed an 18-135mm, and what's nice is that it's the only lens to feature Pentax's latest rear-mounted DC AF system, which is really fast and practically inaudible. On top of that, it's weather-sealed and and IQ is better than that of the kit zoom lens.

Here are some reviews:
Pentax-DA 18-135mm Zoom Review - Overview - PentaxForums.com
SMC Pentax-DA 18-135mm F3.5-5.6 ED AL [IF] DC WR Reviews - DA Zoom Lenses - Pentax Lens Reviews & Lens Database

Also, remember that whenever you shop at B&H through our forum, you may be eligible for a free premium account upgrade- see my signature

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)