Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-05-2012, 08:40 AM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
You're A Smart Man Uncle Packy!

I hope I'm in the right place for introductions. I'm fairly new to photography, having bought an inexpensive P&S on a black Friday a year and a half ago. My photo requirements changed rather suddenly and found I needed an DSLR for work and of course play. I was serioursly considering the Canon T2i or T3i and had been Internet hunting for best prices when I read a Canon review praising a lesser Pentax that was "rumoured" to having some of the same innards as pro Canon models! That one sentence put me onto the scent of Pentax and here I am. I was, as you put it "lurking about" on the Forum and was amazed and overjoyed to find confirmation that Pentax cameras are quality built!

The amazing thing to me is, when I was in elementary school my Uncle Packy bought an Ashai K1000. My father followed suit, knowing his brother always put a lot of thought and research into whatever he did. Unfortunately the camera sat in a dark closet most of the time. He was not interested in photography, I think the learning curve seemed a bit steep for family pictures using a Polariod camera most of the time.

I have just bought a K20 from one of your members and I will even be able to use my fathers kit lens! I am very excited and feel a renewed connection to my Uncle, thinking him more clever than ever, although he has passed. Thank you Pentax Forums for being there for me and all the wonderful opportunities you offer!

04-05-2012, 09:06 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Out of curiosity, what kit lens was your Uncle using? If he was an enthusiast you may well have a gem in your possession. That said, I've taken some really nice images with an old F50 f/2 lens. I'm sure you'll have fun with it.
04-05-2012, 09:27 AM   #3
Forum Member

Original Poster